Secondary Certification

This program is designed for students with a bachelor’s degree who wish to go into the teaching field. Upon completion of this program and passage of the Praxis II content and Praxis PLT tests, graduates can become certified 7-12 teachers in South Dakota. The program requires a minimum of 39 coursework credit hours and a capstone. For their capstone experience, students may choose to write a research thesis or take a comprehensive examination.


The secondary certification and degree program requires the applicant to pass the state certification content-specific Praxis II test before acceptance can be granted into the teacher education program. A criminal background check is also required. In this concentration, the student is responsible for the following extra costs:

  • PRAXIS test registration
  • Vericheck done before student observations
  • Join FTO or show verification of liability insurance
  • Fingerprinting done at the Sheriff’s Office
  • DCI-FBI criminal background check
  • TB test
Required Courses

Dakota Wesleyan University was named to the 2013 President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll. This designation is the highest honor a college or university can receive for its commitment to volunteering, service-learning and civic engagement.
Dakota Wesleyan University is proudly affiliated with the Dakotas Conference of the United Methodist Church. Members of any and all faiths are welcome and encouraged to experience an education based on learning, leadership, faith and service.
Dakota Wesleyan University has been honored as a College of Distinction through demonstration of excellence in these areas: engaged students, great teaching, vibrant communities and successful outcomes.
The Chronicle of Higher Education named Dakota Wesleyan University one of the “Great Colleges to Work For®” for 2014-2015. DWU won honors in three categories: facilities, workspace and security, and supervisor/department chair relationship.
Dakota Wesleyan University
1200 W. University Ave
Mitchell, SD 57301
© 2014 Dakota Wesleyan University

South Dakota Website Design and Development