2014 winners of the Agnes Hyde Writing Contest announced

Thursday, April 24, 2014

The winners of this year’s Agnes Hyde Writing Contest at Dakota Wesleyan University have been announced.


First, “To Be, or Not To Be?” by Ashley Kingdon, Huron

Second, “Matter over Mind,” by Delayna Paulson, Mount Vernon

Third, Untitled (The tale of Lewis and Clark’s exploratory journey), by Jonathan Wieger, Waubay

Honorable Mentions: “The Step,” by Sarah Twibell, Orchard, Neb.; “A Life Stuck in the Autumn,” by Autumn Schmidt, White


First, “Madison, Neb.,” by Chris Gubbrud, Springfield

Second, “Ages of Red,” by Taylor Spence, North Branch, Minn.

Third, “After a News Report Stating:  Pony, Drunk on Fermented Apples, Drowns in a Swimming Pool,” by Chris Gubbrud, Springfield

Honorable Mention: “A Figment,” by Analisa Morel, Gilbert, Ariz.


First, “She & Him,” by Analisa Morel, Gilbert, Ariz.

Second, “The Other Parts,” by Amber Hiles, Woonsocket

Third, “The Deadly Cure,” by Taylor Spence, North Branch, Minn.

Honorable Mentions: “Fourth Grief,” by Emma Otterpohl, Mount Vernon; “Shakespeare,” by Amanda Dixon, Mitchell

The Agnes Hyde Writing Contest was founded in 1985 by Joe Ditta, English professor at DWU from 1983-2012) and its namesake was a 1924 Dakota Wesleyan alumna and English professor at DWU from 1946 to 1951.

Categories: News
Dakota Wesleyan University was named to the 2013 President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll. This designation is the highest honor a college or university can receive for its commitment to volunteering, service-learning and civic engagement.
Dakota Wesleyan University is proudly affiliated with the Dakotas Conference of the United Methodist Church. Members of any and all faiths are welcome and encouraged to experience an education based on learning, leadership, faith and service.
Dakota Wesleyan University has been honored as a College of Distinction through demonstration of excellence in these areas: engaged students, great teaching, vibrant communities and successful outcomes.
Dakota Wesleyan University
1200 W. University Ave
Mitchell, SD 57301
© 2015 Dakota Wesleyan University

South Dakota Website Design and Development