Student Ministry Council
The Student Ministry Council exists to:
  • Bring seeking persons into a dynamic, lifelong relationship with God
  • Grow ordinary radicals of Jesus Christ
  • Send countercultural agents into the world through the Holy Spirit 

The Student Ministry Council (SMC) is a student-led council composed of a chairperson, publicity coordinator, treasurer, campus pastor and two student ministry coordinators in each of the three areas of ministry. SMC, a standing committee of the Student Association Senate, works with the office of campus ministry to fulfill its mission and aid the campus pastor in meeting the ministry needs of the campus community.


SMC Administrative Team
Chair   Andrew DeVaney  andrew.devaney.11@dwu.edu
Treasurer  Autumn Krueger
 autumn.krueger.10@dwu.edu
 Publicist  Jedd Schlicht  jedd.schlicht.10@dwu.edu
Freshman
Representatives:

 Cody Warns  cody.warns.13@dwu.edu

 Matthew Bader    matthew.bader.13@dwu.edu
   Nate Collins  nate.collins.13@dwu.edu

Bring
The ministry of bring provides regular worship celebrations for the campus community.

Student
Coordinators:
 
 Hannah Ford    hannah.ford.11@dwu.edu
 Sam Sandau    samantha.sandau.10@dwu.edu

Grow
The ministry of grow provides regular opportunities for small group spiritual development.

Student
Coordinators:
 
 Michelle Arends     michelle.arends.12@dwu.edu 
 Ian McClanahan    ian.McClanahan.12@dwu.edu 

Send
The ministry of send provides regular opportunities for the campus to serve & to act upon various issues of injustice.

Student
Coordinators:
 
 Kelli Swenson    kelli.swenson.10@dwu.edu
 Ana Morel    ana.morel.11@dwu.edu

How to get involved in SMC…Everyone is welcome at SMC meetings to share ideas or to offer their gifts and talents in servant leadership. However, only designated SMC members are allowed to vote.

The chairperson is elected by the student body during the spring semester. The student ministry coordinators, publicity coordinator and treasurer are selected by a selection committee, also during the spring semester. If you are interested in serving in one of these leadership opportunities, contact the SMC chair or the campus pastor

SMC By-Laws
Dakota Wesleyan University was named to the 2013 President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll. This designation is the highest honor a college or university can receive for its commitment to volunteering, service-learning and civic engagement.
Dakota Wesleyan University is proudly affiliated with the Dakotas Conference of the United Methodist Church. Members of any and all faiths are welcome and encouraged to experience an education based on learning, leadership, faith and service.
Dakota Wesleyan University has been honored as a College of Distinction through demonstration of excellence in these areas: engaged students, great teaching, vibrant communities and successful outcomes.
The Chronicle of Higher Education named Dakota Wesleyan University one of the “Great Colleges to Work For®” for 2014-2015. DWU won honors in three categories: facilities, workspace and security, and supervisor/department chair relationship.
Dakota Wesleyan University
1200 W. University Ave
Mitchell, SD 57301
800-333-8506
© 2014 Dakota Wesleyan University
605-995-2600

Sitemap
South Dakota Website Design and Development